“Eating my way through L.A” by Giulia Rebay

When I was asked to write a blog post about the best food I’ve had since arriving here in LA (sadly it’s already been 15 days) I realized I had a very wide repertoire to draw from. During these two weeks I’ve spent on campus, activities have been endlessly filling up our daily schedules, and as most of you might have already guessed, many were food related. As a self-proclaimed foodie I couldn’t possibly miss any, right? Having tasted so many weird but mouthwatering new foods, including the best vegan nachos one could ever possibly hope to savor, I’ll be honest and say that I don’t really think I can pinpoint what was my favourite dish. BUT, I can pretend to be a food blogger and meticulously list all the sick places we’ve been to. So here it is, get yourselves ready and grab a pen or something, as I can guarantee you’ll want to try out at least one of these places (probably more).

Let’s rewind to day three. That was a hard one. I had to chose between brunch in Melrose (with an additional trip to one of LA’s most renowned flea markets) and Malibu. Unexpectedly, my love for the beach outmatched my foodie instinct: I ended up going to Zuma Beach (and having so much fun). I left for the beach, ready to get tanned and to finally see the Pacific. Little did I know that I would enjoy incredible food at the beach too. A few moments before arriving at Zuma, we stopped at a food court where I had my first açai bowl ever. Saying it was delicious is a major understatement. SunLife Cafe is famous all over LA for making the best açai bowls – a not so overrated statement I find myself completely agreeing with.

Fast-forward to day five, we’re driving off to one of LA’s most famous ice cream shops: Sweet Rose Creamery. The ice cream was definitely worth the wait as I may or may not have had three huge scoops of this delicious gelato-like desert. They had some of the most creative flavours ever (let’s be honest, who’s not a fan of corn ice cream here? Best flavour ever).

On Day Six, we stopped by Sawtelle and Korea Town. This time I had no difficulty in choosing which one to go to: I went off to get ramen and let me tell you, the expectations might have been really high but reality proved to be even better. The noodle bowl I got from Tatsu Ramen, a modern Japanese cuisine cafe on Sawtelle Boulevard, was incredibly appetizing and flavourful. Definitely something I’d eat again and again. It was delicious! If you ever happen to be in Sawtelle and you’re a ramen addict just as I am, be sure to check this place out – no matter your preferences they’ve got you covered. Side note, their bowls are so aesthetically pleasing they make a great pic to post on Instagram.

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 9.56.04 AM

Hang in there, cause day seven was Abbot Kinney’s First Fridays – a monthly event taking place every first Friday of the month on Abbot Kinney Boulevard, where more than 200 food trucks gather for one of the most foodie-friendly nights I’ve ever been to. Honestly, you don’t even have to be a foodie to fall in love with this place. Featuring tacos, sweet potato fries, and mac and cheese, the show wouldn’t have been complete without ice cream cookie sandwiches from Coolhaus Co. (which I fell in love with thanks to their gluten free chocolate chip cookies). If ice cream, tacos and fries don’t really sound that appetising, they’ll still have you covered. We didn’t get a chance to see every food truck, but the most popular ones sold grilled cheese, brick oven pizza, Thai street food, Chinese buns, rolled ice cream, crepes and much, much more.

We thought our stomachs had reached their maximum capacity and were planning on getting a break from all this food, but on day nine it was time to head downtown to grab a meal (or two) at Smorgasboard. By this point, I had pretty much trained my body to prepare for large quantities of really good food, so having lunch at 11 AM wasn’t even that hard. Best part of it? Definitely the chocolate glazed donut I grabbed from Donut Friend’s truck, but the Oreo churros Nina and Gia had also looked really appetizing (and I bet they were!).

One of my latest foodie adventures was at Sage Organic Bistro, in Culver City. This place was honestly insane and definitely blew my mind; I had never thought vegan food could be so delicious. We started off by sharing a jackfruit nacho plate, smothered in cashew sour cream, guac and much more deliciousness. I also tried a tempeh pesto burger (also really good) and had a huge brownie for dessert. Again, all worth it. I have to admit that to feel better about our food babies, we had to walk back for a couple of miles before being able to actually sit down on a bus. Never mind that though; it’s still a 10/10.

Last but not least, we headed to Larchmont today and savoured some of the best food I’ve ever had the opportunity to lay my hands on. I ate at Cafe Gratitude, a vegetarian cafe with locations in Venice and Beverly Hills, and let me tell you, the food was out of this world! I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves, there’s really not much I can add. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And in case you’re not a fan of vegetarian food, Larchmont has so much more to offer: I also got donuts, cookies, and a small brownie (which were dope, in case you were still wondering).

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 10.07.22 AM.png

After all the food we’ve had, I’m still not planning of giving up my foodie instincts. I’m pretty sure I’ll keep on eating my way through this amazing city that has so much to offer (food-wise and not), so stay tuned for more!

Oh, and just in case you need an extra push to get really hungry, here are some pics from places I did not get the chance to go to but that I’m positive are going to be equally mind-blowing and delicious. (You can thank me later.)

Bon apetit.

– Giulia